The Classroom Learning Formula

The Classroom Learning Formula

By Evangelidou Foteini, August 2014

images

I had never thought that a mathematical formula could lead to successful learning procedures, since I watched the first week video lectures of the course “Surviving Your Rookie Year of Teaching: 3 Key Ideas & High Leverage Techniques “. This course offered me a new perspective of what could be meaningful for classroom’s learning. I learned about THE CLASSROOM LEARNING FORMULA which is:

Classroom Learning = Lesson Quality * ΣIndividual Student Effort * ( 1 – Misbehavior Tax )

After meeting this formula, I understood how Lesson Quality and Individual Student Effort affect the learning procedures in a classroom. However, I had never thought before how important the Misbehavior Tax is.

Misbehavior Tax refers to how much learning student lose, when there is misbehavior going on class. This means that a teacher should spend a lot of time for making continues comments and remarks to students who do things which are supposed inappropriate in a context of a classroom, such as throwing papers or talking over the teacher. But this waste of time could be really useful and meaningful if the teacher would do something more creative.

As far as myself is concerned, I strongly believe that Misbehavior Tax is very difficult to be avoided or disappeared and a teacher should try really hard.

OF COURSE we should not forget about the LESSON QUALITY and the INDIVIDUAL EFFORT. A teacher should pay big attention to the lesson quality. Activities, goals, material, questions, answers, program, lesson plan, tasks and generally whatever is contained in the duration of a lesson should be carefully selected and created. Moreover the sum of the students who strongly participate in teaching and learning procedures is affected by the lesson quality and the relationship between teacher and students and between students and students.

I tried to make this CLASSROOM LEARNING FORMULA real as far as my students are concerned. In my opinion, if I try this, this formula would have the following form:

Classroom Learning = Lesson Quality * ΣIndividual Student Effort * ( 1 – Misbehavior Tax ) –>

Classroom Learning = 9 * 8 * ( 1 – 0,10 ) –>

Classroom Learning = 9 * 8 * 0,90 –>

Classroom Learning = 64,8

This result depends on my opinion about what is going on with my students. If this is real, I am very very very very glad about it!!!!!!

I am looking forward to reading about your results and thoughts on the CLASSROOM LEARNING FORMULA….. 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

